Join, Renew, Contribute

West Regional Report - July



SPECIAL EVENTS

Friends of NRA
Whether you’re a hunter, competitive shooter or just a proud gun owner, Friends of NRA has something for everyone. The format is simple—food, fun, family and fundraising! At every Friends of NRA banquet you’ll have the opportunity to participate in games, raffles, live and silent auctions, and more. You’ll also find many unique items including limited edition firearms, wildlife art, jewelry and outdoor gear. To learn more about events in your area, visit www.friendsofnra.org, contact your local field representative or call (800) 672-3888, ext. 1342.

Western Region Director—Brad Kruger
bkruger@nrahq.org

MN—Eric Linder
elinder@nrahq.org

ND, SD—Clay Pederson

cpederson@nrahq.org

Northern AK—Josh Toennessen
jtoennessen@nrahq.org

Southern AK—Greg Stephens
gstephens@nrahq.org

ID—Steve Vreeland
svreeland@nrahq.org

MT—Joe Crismore
jcrismore@nrahq.org

OR, HI—Mike Carey
mcarey@nrahq.org

WA—Michael Herrera
mherrera@nrahq.org

WY—Dave Manzer
dmanzer@nrahq.org


PLACES TO SHOOT

Area Range Facilities
Randomly selected listings of shooting ranges open to the public will appear here periodically. To include your range, affiliate with NRA through the Business Alliance Affiliation program, or for more information, please call (800) NRA-CLUB (672-2582) or logon to www.nrahq.org/clubs. For detailed information on the facilities listed below, call the accompanying numbers. For information on other shooting facilities, go to www.nra.org/nralocal.aspx and search the Clubs and Associations Directory and the Places to Shoot listings.

Center Mass Firearms
Henderson, NV (702) 558-7890

Kings County Sportsman’s Club
Hanford, CA (559) 275-7046

Pheasant Ridge, Inc.
Tygh Valley, OR (541) 544-2188

Red Mountain Trap & Skeet
Scottsdale, AZ (480) 990-9994


STATE ASSOCIATIONS

NRA-affiliated state associations promote and support the purposes, objectives, policies and programs of the NRA. For more information, contact your state association listed below, or log onto www.nrahq.org/clubs/index.asp.

Alaska Outdoor Council, Inc.
Rod Arno, Executive Director
(907) 264-6645 aoc@alaskaoutdoorcouncil.org

Hawaii Rifle Ass’n
Harvey Gerwig, President
(808) 306-7194
hghawaii@gmail.com

Idaho State Rifle & Pistol Ass’n
Neill Goodfellow, President
(208) 452-0293
njg308@fmtc.com

Minnesota Rifle and Revolver Ass’n
George Minerich, President
(320) 968-6898
mrrapresident@gmail.com

Montana Rifle & Pistol Ass’n
Jamey Williams, President
(406) 868-4181 jameydan@gmail.com

North Dakota Shooting Sports Ass’n

Eric Pueppke, Executive Officer
(701) 967-8450

Oregon State Shooting Ass’n
Nelson Shew, President
(541) 409-3358
bnshew@centurylink.net

South Dakota Shooting Sports Ass’n
Dan Anderson, Secretary & Comm. Dir.
(605) 428-5488
dan@sdshootingsports.org


LAW ENFORCEMENT

Training
Public and private officers interested in becoming firearms instructors should attend one of NRA’s Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor Development Schools, designed to enhance the instructors’ firearm knowledge and handling skills, as well as prepare them to develop effective training programs, instruct in a professional manner, and conduct practical training exercises.  Restricted to law enforcement officers only.

JULY 20-24—SAN DIEGO, CA
(Handgun/Shotgun)

Contact Mary Shine (703) 267-1628 or mshine@nrahq.org.

Police Competition
NRA Police Pistol Combat competition is intended to be used as an extension of an officer’s training. See PPC Rulebook (Rule 2.4) for eligibility requirements.

JULY 11—RICHLAND, WA
(Approved)

JULY 17-19—ARLINGTON, WA
(Registered)

Contact Tiffany King (703) 267-1621 or tking@nrahq.org.


TRAINING

Crime Prevention
The NRA’s Refuse To Be A Victim® program provides men and women with common-sense crime prevention and personal safety strategies. The most up-to-date schedule is available on the Internet at NRAInstructors.org, by email at refuse@nrahq.org, or by telephone at (800) 861-1166.

JULY—ONLINE
(Instructor Development Workshop)
Visit NRAOnlineTraining.org for more information.


AREA SHOOTS

PISTOL
COEUR D’ALENE, ID – JULY 11
SPRINGFIELD, OR – JULY 19
WADENA, MN – JULY 25
PUYALLUP, WA – JULY 25
LAKE ELMO, MN – JULY 26
VALLEY CITY, ND – JULY 26

SMALLBORE RIFLE
ARIEL, WA – JULY 25-26

HIGH POWER RIFLE
BISMARCK, ND – JULY 4
VALE, OR – JULY 11
HARRIS, MN – JULY 11-15
CHEYENNE, WY – JULY 12
BOTHELL, WA – JULY 19
RIVERSIDE, WA – JULY 25
ROCKER, MT – JULY 25-26
REXBURG, ID – JULY 26
JUNEAU, AK – JULY 26

SILHOUETTE
SHERWOOD, OR – JULY 4
TIMBERLAKE, SD – JULY 5
BLACKFOOT, ID – JULY 18
BISMARCK, ND – JULY 19
LANDER, WY – JULY 19
FORSYTHE, MT – JULY 19
PEELL, WA – JULY 26

For more information, contact Shelly Kramer at (703) 267-1459 or mkramer@nrahq.org.
For a complete listing, see www.shootingsportsusa.com.


GUN SHOWS

JULY 10-12  BOZEMAN, MT
Gallatin County Fairgrounds, Weapons Collector Society of Montana (406) 277-4485

JULY 11  VANCOUVER, WA
Clark County Square Dance Center, Arms Collectors of Southwest Washington (360) 263-7511

JULY 11-12  BOISE, ID
Idaho Expo Fairgrounds, Lewis Clark Trader (208) 746-5555

JULY 11-12  MONROE, WA
Evergreen State Fairgrounds, Washington Arms Collectors (425) 255-8410

JULY 18-19  BROOKLYN PARK, MN
Brooklyn Park Armory, Crocodile Productions (763) 754-7140

JULY 18-19  ASTORIA, OR
Clatsop County Expo Center, Collectors West (800) 659-3440

JULY 18-19  CENTRALIA, WA
SouthWest Washington Fairgrounds, Wes Knodel Gun Shows (503) 363-9564

JULY 18-19  SPOKANE, WA
Spokane County Fair & Expo, Lewis Clark Trader (208) 746-5555

JULY 24-26  KALISPELL, MT
Flathead County Fairgrounds, Up In Arms Gun Shows (208) 241-4005

JULY 24-26  WISDOM, MT

Wisdom Community Center, Weapons Collector Society of Montana (406) 277-4485

JULY 24-26  PORTLAND, OR

Portland Metro Expo Center, Collectors West (800) 659-3440

JULY 25-26  NORTH BEND, OR
North Bend Community Center, Wes Knodel Gun Shows (503) 363-9564

JULY 25-26  LYNDEN, WA

Northwest Washington Fairgrounds, Falcon Gun Shows (360) 202-7336

*NRA Affiliate. All others are NRA Recruiters. For details, call (703) 267-3772.

Bringing the Association home to Main Street America, the "NRA Regional Report" delivers timely information on local shooting competitions, training seminars, shooting ranges, Friends of NRA dinners and events of interest to members where they live, in five geographic regions of the country.